19 / 20
What are the two main categories of fatigue?
  • A
    Normal and Chronic.
  • B
    Normal and Severe.
  • C
    Acute and Chronic.
  • D
    Acute and Sympathetic.

Fatigue is a feeling of constant tiredness or weakness and can be physical, mental or a combination of both.

The two types of fatigue are acute and chronic:

  • Acute fatigue – short-term and more intense which usually affects the body, and just needs a good nights’ sleep to sort things out. Acute stress activates the General Adaptation Syndrome (GAS), where physical, emotional and mental resources are mobilized to fight stress.
  • Chronic fatigue – arises from more long-term effects - like many episodes of acute fatigue. Chronic fatigue typically happens after you’ve had no rest for some time and the body’s energy level cannot be restored after normal or increased periods of sleep. Coping with the impact of chronic stress can be challenging. Because the source of long-term stress is more constant than acute stress, the body never receives a clear signal to return to normal functioning.

Your Notes (not visible to others)

This question has appeared on the real examination, you can find the related countries below.